Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

choices.... choices... choices

I have been riding a road bike for around 3 years now. I'm enjoying and getting into it. Now I've got to the point where I'd like to buy a new bike - my first proper bike. I have been cycling a Whyte Sussex 2015, which is a fine entry road bike. Before I buy a new bike I thought I'd pick your brain. I have been researching and have a pretty clear idea of the specs:

- race frame geometry
    - disc brakes
    - ultegra group set
    - 50cm (XS) frame size
    - under £3500.

A few questions:

1. Is carbon really that fragile? I've read all sort of reports of how the frame needs to be looked after. I'm not sure I want to spend all that money and worry about the frame all the time. I mean I'm pretty good with looking after my current bike but I don't need any additional reason for worrying.

2. Which retailers would you recommend? Chains such as EvansCycles / Cycle Surgery, etc. Online stores? or small bike shops?

3. I've seen a few sales offer now but do the bikes get even cheaper in Winter?

4. I'm thinking of the following ones:

Canyon Ultimate CF SLX Disc 8.0
    https://www.canyon.com/en-gb/road/ul...-disc-8-0.html

+ true Ultegra (not mixture of Ultegra + 105)
    + Looks
    - stories of long delivery
    - no aluminium equivalent bike

Cannondale CAAD12 Disc Ultegra 2017 (ugly looks)
    https://www.evanscycles.com/cannonda...-bike-EV280308

Cannondale SuperSix Evo Disc Ultegra 2017
    https://www.evanscycles.com/cannonda...-bike-EV280301

Cannondale Caad12 Disc Ultegra 2018
    https://www.evanscycles.com/cannonda...-bike-EV308150

Cannondale SuperSix Evo Disc Ultegra 2018
    https://www.evanscycles.com/cannonda...-bike-EV308128
    With Cannondale I don't like it that they are advertised as Ultegra but it's really a mixture of Ultegra and eg. 105. I'm not sure I also like some of Cannondale flashy colours.

Please advise. Perhaps similar bikes from other brands?

Thank you